• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Are We All Boring ? (1 Viewer)

Finchey

Sorry to go slightly out of context on this thread but i had a rather unpleasent experience last week and wanted some thoughts from like minded friends.

Cutting a long story short, i seen a slightly unusual bird in my garden last week and was curious as to its identity. Its just that im fairly new to birdwatching and wanted to research in my local library what it could have been. When i said to the young girl what i was looking for, she gave a little like giggle to herself, as if to say get a life you loser. I felt so humiliated.

When i told another friend about this he said its because birdwatchers are seen to be very dull type people like trainwatchers, etc. I honestly didnt think this to be the case, but has anyone else experienced this sort of reaction from members of the public when they said they were keen bird watchers ?

Btw - The birds i actually saw, i found out were waxwings. Not the rare bird i thought they might be, but none the matter, a first for me and an exciting one at that.

Finchey

I wouldn't be intimidated by a silly little girl, you're probably not interested in the stuff she likes either! The world is a richer place for folk liking diferent things.

As for Waxwings...... I got so excited when I first saw one, they are fabulous wee birds