• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Grace's or Townsend's Warbler? (1 Viewer)

LzyPhotographer

What do you think - Grace's or Townsend's? Or maybe it's something completely different? ;-) If you could tell my why, I'd appreciate it. My guess is Grace's.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• gw1.jpg
    gw1.jpg
    184.8 KB · Views: 292
  • gw2.jpg
    gw2.jpg
    189.1 KB · Views: 276
I'm not experienced with either species but it seems to have too much yellow on the head for Grace's and Townsend's seems pretty close.

Yes, Townsend's, Lzy. The green back and black earpatch eliminates Grace's. Townsend's is most often confused with Black-throated Green and Hermit (because they're most often seen high overhead, hence a view of the underside only), but the strong black earpatch on your bird indicates a male Townsend's (BT Green has much duller patch and Hermit's is downright yellow). Townsend's and Grace's don't overlap much in breeding season; where and when did you take these shots, Lzy?

Mr. Harper already gave the details as to why it's a townsend's.

So, I'm just going to concur.

Also, isn't grace's grey on the upper mantle rather than greenish-yellow as in Townsend's?

I'd vote for Townsend's. As Charles said, the dark, enclosed ear patch is diagnostic. Grace's, in any plumage, also doesn't have any black on the throat, and the second picture shows a black patch, or at least the start of one. (The head angled down in the first hides most of the throat area; the flank streaks aren't visible in the first photo, either.)

Wow, once again you guys are amazing. Thank you!