• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

beginner's binoculars (1 Viewer)

brunop

hey all,
i'm pretty new to birding and need ya'lls guidance in binoculars. what is a good pair to get that is under say 5 or 6 hundred dollars? i'd really like some of the swavorski or zeiss ones, but they're a bit out of my price range right now. what are some of the better ones in this price range? thanks!!

sorry! maybe i should have put this on the optics forum! any advise is appreciated. links to previous posting on this topic, etc. thanks!

Last edited:
brunop said:
hey all,
i'm pretty new to birding and need ya'lls guidance in binoculars. what is a good pair to get that is under say 5 or 6 hundred dollars? i'd really like some of the swavorski or zeiss ones, but they're a bit out of my price range right now. what are some of the better ones in this price range? thanks!!

sorry! maybe i should have put this on the optics forum! any advise is appreciated. links to previous posting on this topic, etc. thanks!

Have a look at Zeiss Conquest's at Eagle Optics, very good bin's and semi-reasonable at $549, here's the link:

http://www.eagleoptics.com/index.asp?dept=1&type=19&purch=1&pid=3900

Good luck,

Jaeger near Chicago

Hi Brunop,

Not sure how much they would retail for in the US, but have you looked at Nikon 8*32 SEs??

These are optically first-rate, and there's no reason why your first pair shouldn't be the only pair that you ever need!!

Only downsides are :-

They are not truly waterproof, but I suspect waterproof enough unless you plan to use them scuba-diving...