• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Please share your expertise with a novice. (1 Viewer)

Strange Little Bird

Hello, I’m just beginning to get into birding and I’d really like to get some binocular buying advice from the knowledgeable folks on this site. I wear glasses and tend to have a problem when looking through binoculars, not being able to see one image but rather getting double vision, so I purchased an Orion 10-25 zoom monocular. While this is a pretty neat device I’ve found that it’s not really ideal, and I think I might be better off with binoculars that I can better stabilize against my face.

I’ve got an old a Bushnell 7-15 x 35 Hillary Legend and old cheap Tasco 10 x 50 and both have the double vision problem for me. (Others see fine through them). I’ve tried a friend’s Nikon Monarch 8 x 42 that work properly for me, but they are more than I’d like to spend.

I’d like to keep the price $100 - $200. I was looking at 8 x 42s and considering the Zen-Ray ZRS HD (SUMMIT) 8x42 Waterproof Binoculars because all the excellent reviews but started reading on this site about the 7 x 42s and 8 x 32s, so now I’m a bit confused as to the best pair for me. Here are some details, please let me know what you recommend:

• Wear glasses with highly corrected vision (pushing 50 so eyes getting worse all the time)
• Fairly close set eyes (The Monarchs had to be set at the closest position to work)

• Female – I haven’t seen anything about specific glasses for men or women, but I should think it must make some difference in handgrip, etc?