• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

BTO recording (1 Viewer)

Metermaid

I was wondering how many members record for BTO - I was interested to hear about the Owl survey and had a look at their site - I see you have to pay £12 to submit records to them so was just wondering how many people here contribute and if they feel it is worthwhile.

Thanks

Rita

I've been doing it since July 1995 - it's been made much easier since the option of entering records online was introduced some while back. You can give more information online, and I find it quicker to do than inking little boxes on a machine-read form. Obviously this helps them too, as a fair number of the paper forms are not filled in correctly, or arrive too crumpled, or have notes on them for correcting errors - and have to be fed into the machine. I look upon the £12 as another subscription to a good cause!

I think there are quite a few BF members who do it - maybe this thread will encourage more people to take part - I certainly feel it is worth while. I print out a sheet for each week, and mark numbers down whenver we see more birds. One day I might get round to putting my records on computer, as I still have all the sheets.

I think there are one or two who do a WeBS count, I am one. I really enjoy doing my monthly walk on the canal and keep a list of all the species I see as well as the WeBS species. It costs nothing and you could get in touch with your county recorder to see if there is an uncovered bit of water/wetland.