• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

plover (1 Viewer)

First of all I believe Craig Shaw photographed this bird in Cumbria and put it down as a probable AMERICAN GOLDEN PLOVER, not Dotterel.

I would be interested to known why people think a bird this is a Dotterel. Personally I have no experience of Yank GP and limited of winter/juv Dotterels, but that doesn't look like a Dotterel to me.

For starts the jizz looks wrong, its a long legged bird, possibly to big for Dotterel. Also the legs look dark (take a look at the pic of it yawning/calling where you can see the leg against a green background- that ain't pale/yellow like a Dotterel, thats dark like a Yank GP).

Also looking at the head pattern the super seems to come down and around the cheeks like on a Yank GP (granted Dotterel it does do that but not quite the same and this photo shows the dark spot like on a Yank GP).

On the belly it also shows a few black spots which Dotts don't have, one of which is actually on what I am asuming everyone is thinking is the white breast band of a Dotterel. If you carefully look at the yawning/calling pic then you will see the breast band which looks like a Dotterel plumage trait in the side on pic, does in actual fact stop at the black spot. Yank GPs in less advanced moult show white around the edges of the black belly in exactly that spot, so presumably this is just that.

Note also the bird is golden patterns on the back rather than browner like a Dotterel.

Just my view.....

cheers
Will

marek_walford said:
Doesn't look like a Dotterel to me, nor a Eurasian Golden! Is it an American?