• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

'AF point expansion' query re. birds in flight (1 Viewer)

davpen

Hello. I've never used Canon gear before but am considering getting a 70D (or possibly a 7D), mostly for getting record shots of birds passing over our visible migration watchpoint.

My question is: with the AF point expansion feature on the 7D, is it necessary to get the single point to focus on the bird in the first place, ie before the surrounding points come into play? Reason I ask is that I don't think I could do this very often with fast flying passerines, and I'd probably end up using Zone AF anyway, and hoping for the best.

This is one of the reasons why on balance I'm leaning towards the 70D (with its supposedly slightly better high ISO capabilities) over the 7D.

Am I doing the right thing?

Cheers,

David

Hello. I've never used Canon gear before but am considering getting a 70D (or possibly a 7D), mostly for getting record shots of birds passing over our visible migration watchpoint.

My question is: with the AF point expansion feature on the 7D, is it necessary to get the single point to focus on the bird in the first place, ie before the surrounding points come into play? Reason I ask is that I don't think I could do this very often with fast flying passerines, and I'd probably end up using Zone AF anyway, and hoping for the best.

This is one of the reasons why on balance I'm leaning towards the 70D (with its supposedly slightly better high ISO capabilities) over the 7D.

Am I doing the right thing?

Cheers,

David