• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping with the Panasonic FS16. (1 Viewer)

Andy1979

Hello,

I have recently bought the FS16 from Opticron to go with my HR66 28x Scope. It is a really good bit of kit which just goes on and off without disturbance to the eyepiece. However, I don't seem to be able to get very sharp images. I am new to photography and so have a few questions:

1. Which picture size should I be using (the options are all 4.3 then either 14m, 10m, 5m, 3m or 0.3m)?

2. Which sensitivity setting should I be using (options are ISO, 100, 200, 400, 800 or 1600)?

3. Should I be changing any other settings? Such as the iExposure, iResolution or White Balance.

4. My tripod is not in a good state and doesn't really hold steady in position. How much will this affect the quality of the picture and would it change if I had a wire thing to take the picture rather than just pressing the button.

As an example, here are a few shots of a Great Grey Shrike I found yesterday at Shellness in Kent.

Many thanks and sorry for so many questions - but I really am ignorant when it comes to all this stuff, but want to be able to take some decent photos!

Andy M

Attachments

• Great Grey Shrike 20111108 Shellness Swale NNR (1) - Copy.JPG
    Great Grey Shrike 20111108 Shellness Swale NNR (1) - Copy.JPG
    231.7 KB · Views: 184
  • Great Grey Shrike 20111108 Shellness Swale NNR (3) - Copy.JPG
    Great Grey Shrike 20111108 Shellness Swale NNR (3) - Copy.JPG
    175.8 KB · Views: 175