• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Rattling ! (1 Viewer)

NZbinodude

New Zealand
Hi everyone, new to the forum. :)

I'm a college student who saved up his hard earned dough for a pair of Zeiss Victory T* Fl's (10x32). I bought them online and they arrived in the mail this morning ! Woop. My first impression of the bins was that the glass was AMAZING. The fit and and feel was stellar and overall I was super excited about them...that was until I gave them a light shake !

When I held them vertically and shook them from side to side, they made a rattling sound. It doesn't sound like metal was loose and striking glass but it but rather like something was slightly loose ? Its definitely internal; I'm fully aware of the loose 'sandtrap' plastic thing on the front of the focus knob.

This sound only comes from the left ocular tube -around the middle/top area.

I'm slightly pissed off tbh. My grandfathers old 6x30b's are over 40 years old and they make no sound whatsoever.

If the rattling is normal, I'm perfectly fine with it. My only concern is if it will get worse/there is something wrong with the bino's.

Thanks everyone. :)

Cheers,
AJ

I had no rattling in mine. But of course there are some moving parts inside, so depending on how hard to shake, it might be normal to hear some small rattling.
To be sure, you need to compare with another bin. If that's difficult, and if function is normal (bin focusses properly), I wouldn't bother.