• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swift Skipper Binoculars (1 Viewer)

craig braddick

Hi People:

Newbie here!

I have just won a pair of Swift 7X50 Skipper Binoculars.

Does anyone have any knowledge or thoughts about these?

How do they compare ot the audubons porro prisms?

Thanks

Craig

Last edited:
Craig,

in general, the 7x50 configuration was promoted for boating applications, hence the name Skipper. There was also the 7x50 Commodore, which was part of the same "Mark II" series as the Audubon of it's day. And then there was also the 7x50 Admiral.

The model 789 Mark I "Skipper" has a modest 372 ft. FOV and probably BaK-4 prisms with magenta lens coatings. In 1981 it marketed for $144, by comparison to $240 for the Audubon and $208 for the Commodore. The 7x50 Armored "Storm King" was the most expensive Porro in the line up at $380. It was individual focus and only had a 383 ft. FOV.

Comparatively, I don't know what to say about the optics, but the construction looks first class — and Swift had a way of hiding some real gems in the lineup. The narrow field is probably it's limitation.

Hope this helps. Enjoy them.

Blue Skies,
Ed

For the record, the Skipper MKII's use BK7 prisms and are slightly cool in colour tone much like the MKII Saratoga's.

For the record, the Skipper MKII's use BK7 prisms and are slightly cool in colour tone much like the MKII Saratoga's.