• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

identification vs watching (1 Viewer)

A2GG

Beth
United States
Here is a very interesting article I read today. I was searching for answers to my questions on gender and how it relates to our shared hobbie of bird watching:
http://www.allaboutbirds.org/page.aspx?pid=2090&ac=ac

I'm relatively new to BF and I enjoy it very much. However, I have taken note that there's a lot of men on the site and not as many women. I'm not saying this is a bad thing ! So, guys please don't feel like I am being critical here. I am realizing that there are differences between how men approach birding vs women and I'm discovering this from reading many of the forum posts. Then I found the above article from Cornell and it all made sense.

The men seem to really enjoy the identification aspect of birding and gathering more species to add to their lists. Many men (certainly not all) seem to enjoy the 'sport' of birding and the competition the most. I'm sure there are plenty of exceptions though. I won't speak for all women, but I enjoy watching more than identifying. However, I do enjoy the identification aspect as well and especially learning about different species. I took a home study bird biology course last year and enjoyed it immensely (from Cornell Lab of Ornithology if anyone else is interested in looking that up).