• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

San Diego Bird - Please id (1 Viewer)

CAnn

I just saw this bird in the bottlebrush. In my binocs it was overall sort of greenish, including the chest. I'm new to birding...is this a warbler?

Attachments

• DSC05978-a.jpg
    DSC05978-a.jpg
    92.6 KB · Views: 157
  • DSC05979-a.jpg
    DSC05979-a.jpg
    101.2 KB · Views: 128
Thank you, but I looked at some photos of the gray flycatcher and don't see any green...is it ever greenish overall? Because the bird in my photographs was very distinctly greenish overall. The green color in my poor quality photo isn't just an artifact of the surrounding light from the green leaves.

Thank you, but I looked at some photos of the gray flycatcher and don't see any green...is it ever greenish overall? Because the bird in my photographs was very distinctly greenish overall. The green color in my poor quality photo isn't just an artifact of the surrounding light from the green leaves.

Well, my second choice was a vireo of some sort -- this may be supported by what appears to be a distinct stripe behind the eye, bill shape and overall color.

Still could go either way for me, though.

Looks good for Orange-crowned Warbler (I have no idea why they named it that...). Any Empid. flycatcher would show obvious wing-bars and the bill of this bird is much thinner than a vireo's bill would be.