• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Kingfishers (1 Viewer)

matthompson

Hi guys....I'm fairly new to this lark (bum bum)! but I'm interested in seeing some Kingfishers and trying to getting some shots of a bird I havent seen since my youth (when I used to bird watch) oh and I'm only 32 now btw:) !

So are there any kingfisher hot spots, especially near Chelmsford or in Shropshire (I'm usually in one or the other).

Many thanks
Mat

Hi Matt

although pretty bird poor generally at the moment RSPB Rye Meads Nature reserve between Harlow and Hoddessdon can be good for Kingfishers. There are a breeding pair and they can be observed at the Kingfisher hide especially and some of the others

i was in maldon in the winter and got a kingfisher on the other side of the road from chigborough lakes (near the boat club) and there was one on a pool there, local said its there most of the time.

RYE MEADS is great for Kingfishers real comfortable hide never had to wait more than 15 minutes for one to turn up.

RSPB Vange at Basildon has a few resident that sometimes go near the hides. Although both times I've been there, very little else...

This reminded me of what i read on another forum.

nwbf post said:
I saw the Kingfisher fly full speed across the Lagoon from the direction of Tal-y-Fan Hide towards Benarth Hide - straight into a duck minding its own business in the water near the far bank. Didn't half give the duck a suprise.

nwbf post said:
Said Kingfisher nearly took my head off flying in virtually pitch black with no lights on

matthompson said: