• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Need some help with a robin (1 Viewer)

The Nutcracker

Hi all,

Having a dilemma as I think a pair of robins might be nesting in a really bad place where the neighbours cat will surely get them. I'm a newbie with this sort of thing and not sure if it's kinder to scare them away in the hope they find somewhere better to nest. It is only today I have seen the female accompany the male (they were feeding together for a short while before flying into the small bush). Until now I have only seen the male hanging around (either near the bush or sometimes he accompanies the blackbird!). I don't usually know what goes on in the garden as I have only really just started watching and feeding the birds for a couple of weeks! Will the robins likely have eggs already?

Thanks for any advice, the cats are a real worry as they could walk right into the bush if they wanted to. :(

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from the entire staff here at BF :t:

These are just my thoughts but I would go ahead and look for the nest if possible to see if there are any eggs in it yet.
If not, I would just remove the nest or move it higher if possible. If there are eggs in the nest, I hesitate in telling you to move it as the adults may abandon the nest and eggs. This one is a toughie and we appreciate you caring about the wild birds. Do keep us posted on this.

Welcome!

The RSPB say this

Is it legal to move or destroy active birds' nests?