• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Eastern Phoebe? (1 Viewer)

JamieoftheNorth

First off, I'm very new to birding. But I could swear there's an Eastern Phoebe hanging out in my backyard! I'm in southern Maine, and they're supposed to summer here, but it's still early. However, on the rare bird alert, somebody reported hearing one last week just one town over.

I'm going through my guide books, and I can't see anything else it would possibly be, unless I'm overlooking something.

Any thoughts?

Well, how about that? A few minutes after my post, the bird landed on a branch just a dozen feet from my window and stayed there long enough for me to have a very good look at it. Eastern phoebe, no doubt about it now!

JamieoftheNorth said:
Well, how about that? A few minutes after my post, the bird landed on a branch just a dozen feet from my window and stayed there long enough for me to have a very good look at it. Eastern phoebe, no doubt about it now!

If, while the bird was perched on the branch, it constantly bobbed it's tail down and up, then it was an Eastern Phoebe. If it didn't, it could have been an Eastern Wood Peewee. Phoebe's tend to hang around streams and water courses and Peewee's are more woods oriented.

Good Birding,
Bob
:t:

ceasar said:
If, while the bird was perched on the branch, it constantly bobbed it's tail down and up, then it was an Eastern Phoebe. If it didn't, it could have been an Eastern Wood Peewee. Phoebe's tend to hang around streams and water courses and Peewee's are more woods oriented.

Good Birding,
Bob
:t: