• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

8x42 $200-$300.... Carson? (1 Viewer)

LocalHero

Hi, I'm an amateur, casual birder and am needing to replace my old Pentax 8x42's. I spend a lot of time in a kayak and am wanting waterproof, rugged and light weight combined with good optics of course. For readily available bins, I've narrowed it down to Carson ed, Nikon Monarch 5's and was looking at the Eagle Optics Rangers but they seem to be edged out by weight and price so far.
I do care about the small inconveniences that can come with any product and I read about the Monarch lens caps being a pita... not sure how I'd be with the unusual Carson case but I'd probably just keep them on a harness outside of the case like I tend to do now anyway.
I'll add that when I've been frustrated with bins it's often in low light situations. I think the Carsons are supposed to have the edge there, yes?
Warranty seems similar.

I find very little discussion here about the Carson's and less by anyone who actually owns them. I've read and been influenced by online reviews (OpticsReviewer for instance) but don't know how valid those are. The Monarchs I've been able to find locally but not the Carsons. The Carsons are About $56 cheaper at B&H Photo... is there any reason not to get the Carsons?

Sorry for yet another "which bins?" thread but I wasn't finding much Carson specific info.

Thanks!

If you are looking at Nikon seriously, I would stretch it a bit, and look at the Monarch 7.

Try the 8X30 or the 10X30, before you make a final decision and plunk down your money.

Just my opinion.