• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

need help for the first scope... (1 Viewer)

solquest

Hello.
I'm very new to this scope world, but planning an holiday for nexr summer in Canadian parks I was thinking of bringing something for watching better the nature there -and if it can be useful also for watching the sky, even better!
I'd like something that shouldn't be big to carry (something like max 25cm), not heavy as well and with variable magnification around 15-50x -or even more.
I don't want to be obly to always use a tripod, so something I can also just handle -I know I'd need a tripod for high magnifications...
Pre owned things are completely fine as vintage ones, and I wouldn't pay more than 100 ($/€/GBP).
As said the max length when carring should be max around 25cm, but would be ok if I had to extend it when using (like old telescopes).
Had a look around but the only interesting thing I've found seems to be a Yukon 20-50x50.
Do you have any idea on what I shoould look for?
Thanks,
Lisa

Hi Lisa,

It is hard to find anything in this price range and something that might be a good enough for you. Here is something I found that has pretty good reviews. As far as the Yukon there were good reviews and very bad review. Probably sample variations. If you could try one at a store and find it ok, buy it. Sorry I am not much help. My idea would be a Nikon 50ED spotting scope. I have one and love it. A binocular might be better.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B7LQ2EO?psc=1

Last edited:
Thank you.