• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Rawshooter - problem opening RAW images (1 Viewer)

Ghostly Vision

Hello all,

I'm new to RAW, so please bear with me.

I have Rawshooter (and have also tried the Microsoft raw software) but am having trouble opening my pictures. Can anyone help?

This is what I'm doing:

1. Taking photos in RAW format (Panasonic DMC-FZ50)
2. Connecting camera to PC via the cable (for some reason my card reader doesn't recognise pics any more, I think since I formatted the card)
3. Open Rawshooter
4. Move an image to my PC
5. Drag into top box in Rawshooter.

I then get a message saying "unable to open RAW file:(filepath).RAW may be in use by another program".

When I tried with the Windows one, the box would come up saying "creating preview" then it would disappear and nothing would happen at all.

Strangely, when I transfer pics to my PC, the icon is Photoshop PSD. If I try to open it directly into Photoshop, I get a box coming up saying "Describe (filename).RAW" and asking me to enter a file size in pixels. See screen dump on attachment. If I go with its default suggestion it says "specified image is smaller than file; open anyway?" If I click ok, just a portion of the image opens. If I click "guess", the same happens. (see second screendump)

Any help appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Sean

Attachments

• ps screendump.doc
    123 KB · Views: 108
  • ps screendump2.doc
    706.5 KB · Views: 91
Why do you have to move the image to your Pc after opening RS?