• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

AFOV calculator (1 Viewer)

BinoBoy

I put together an Excel worksheet to calculate the apparent field of view using the triganomically correct formula. It allows you to enter the magnification and field of view as degrees, feet at 1000 yards, or meters at 1000 meters and then computes the AFOV and also converts the FOV to the other two units. If you save it to your desktop, you can easily check the AFOV of bins you’re looking at on the web without needing a scientific calculator.

I’m a complete novice at Excel, but it turned out to be surprisingly easy. I couldn’t see a way to attach the Excel file to this post, so I’ve included instructions on how to create it. If you prefer, you can email me and I’ll reply with my file attached. I created this in Excel 2007, but it should be the same in previous versions.

An Excel worksheet is a grid of white boxes called “cells”. Each cell is referred to by the column and row where it is located. So, cell B7 is column B and row 7. You can just type text or a number into a cell, but to assign a calculation to a cell, you click on the cell. The name of the cell appears in a box below the menus and you can then type the formula for the calculation into the box labeled “fx” which is also just below the menus. For all inputs, type them without the quotes and press the ENTER key when done. For the formulas, it should be easiest to copy and paste from this post to Excel.

Type “MAG” into cells A1, A5 and A9.
Type “FOV” into cells A2, A6 and A10.
Type “AFOV” into cells A3, A7 and A11.