• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Which Software ? (1 Viewer)

Pete007

As a student interested in photography and media studies I would appreciate any advice as to what software is recommended for someone serious to learn all aspects of digital photography and hopefully take this up as a career when I finish my exams.
I think Photoshop seems to be what most people use but I've heard about programs called Aperture (Apple) , Lightroom, Bridge etc etc so wonder whats really best or do I need more than one ?
I can get some of the software cheaper as I'm a student but obviously want to start off with software thats most suitable.
I've been told I will need to process RAW files and learn how to handle process them. I understand they have to be compatible with my camera so how do I know which one to use ?
I've also heard about Noise software and Plug-ins !
It seems I have quite a lot to learn yet but in the first instance what software do I need to get the best out of my Photography ?
If I need Photoshop what is the best or latest version to get ?
Sorry if its obvious to all others but any help is appreciated ( I also use an Apple Mac)

Pete

Pete, welcome to birdforum!

Some initial thoughts, from someone who does not know Aperture, so no comments on that.

There are two kinds of software, one for keeping track of your images, and the other for doing editing.