• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Using Refine Tool (CS5) (1 Viewer)

Pete007

I would appreciate a little help or advice when using the refine tool to make an accurate selection using Photoshop CS5.
As you can see from the attached photograph my selections are not particularly clean or accurate and I still have untidy edges around the main image.
Obviously with birds etc I would like to capture all the fine feather detail cleanly and accurately without having to spend a lot of additional time trying to clean the edges up.
I am a relative novice however so would appreciate any help or advice as to where I'm going wrong, and any suggestions as to what settings I need to set the refine tool too would be most helpful.

In addition when I use the refine tool It appears that unless I hold my cursor down until I go round all the image I lose what I've already done and have to start again.
Having broken a finger a while ago I sometime find this a little difficult so am I able to save what I've done with the refine tool before letting go of the cursor ?

Any help or advice much appreciated - Thanks

Attachments

• GF forum pic.jpg
    GF forum pic.jpg
    174.2 KB · Views: 118
It can take time to get a good mask, different tools are often needed for the different parts of the image.

The key is to create a layer mask rather than use the selection tools on there own. That way you can go back and fettle the mask to your hearts content and leave the original image as it is.