• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Comparison: Leupold Yosemite 6x30 and Celestron Cypress 7x30 (1 Viewer)

drabina

This is my very non-scientific comparison of two binoculars: Leupold Yosemite 6x30 (natural color version; owned for about a year now) and Celestron Cypress 7x30 (green colored version owned for two days).

Leupold Yosemite 6x30 and Celestron Cypress 7x30

While reading this, please remember that I have little to no experience with binoculars. I am basically presenting my observations as a very casual user. I am basing this review on 2 hours spent with both binoculars around my neck while bird watching at one of the local nature reserve spots. So lets start.

Build and external quality:
Yosemites are a lot softer with their rubbery coating. Cypress' body is a lot more like a non-slippery plastic. I do prefer Yosemite's feel but I have noticed that the rubber skin is already separating from the body in one place.
Another difference in in the eyecups. Both binocs have eyecups that you can twist to extend. Cypress has a couple of "clicks" between closed and fully opened position. Yosemites do not. While I would think that the "clicks" that Cypress is providing should be a default feature, the constantly closing eyecups of Yosemites just drive me crazy.
Objective lens caps are better in Yosemites since they are somewhat attached to the barrels (they can still slide off but at least there is some protection against that). Cypress' lens caps are just thin rubber caps that you slip on and off. I am giving myself about 1-2 weeks before I lose them for good.