• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

First time in New York (1 Viewer)

Pitta Patter

I'm going to be in NYC in just over a weeks time for 7 days. It's my first time on the east coast really but I have done quite a bit of US birding in the past. Essentially its a family trip but I'm hoping to do a little birding. I'm staying at the south end of Central Park. I'm wondering how long a walk it is to the ramble from there? What birds generally to expect this time of year in Central Park? Any suggestions for any other places to visit? (I will be reliant on public transport) Whether the Shorebird Festival at JB is worth trying to get along to? Any tips for places around Statten Island?

My main targets are American Black Duck, American Woodcock, Upland Sand, Eastern Screech Owl, Ruby-throated Hummingbird, Red Headed and Red Bellied Woodpecker, Blue Jay, Northern Cardinal, Warblers, Vireos, Tufted Titmouse, Eastern Phoebe, Eastern Wood Peewee, Northern Mockingbird, Brown Thrasher, Eastern Towhee, Common Grackles, Orioles etc

Kevin

I'm staying at the south end of Central Park. I'm wondering how long a walk it is to the ramble from there? What birds generally to expect this time of year in Central Park?

Any suggestions for any other places to visit? (I will be reliant on public transport)

From south end to the ramble is only about 15 minutes at an easy pace, if my memory serves me well.

Jamaica Bay is accessible by public transport (subway, then a 15-20 minute walk), and I suppose reasonable numbers of waders should be returning by now.