• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

hi new to bird forum (1 Viewer)

birdpictures

hi,

i'm a painter in new england who has just gone from painting cows to painting birds. even with photos i'm having trouble identifying birds. painting the bird is easy compared to identifying some of the species. if there are other bird painters here, could you give me a little advice on how to go about getting some of the birds identified especially in the flycatcher/phoebe type.

today's catch was the great blue heron and cedar waxwing. i got good shots for painting.

Hi again.

You've already seen how you can get answers in our Bird Identification Q&A section so that can always be a fall back for you ;) The next thing I would suggest is getting a bird guide specifically geared to your area and become familiar with all the colored plates in the guide.

And finally, we have a very, very active Wildlife Art section and you'll get a lot of help here as well.

One of the best ways to learn bird identification is to go birding with someone who knows birds well. See if you can locate a local bird club or Audubon chapter and join in their field trips. Buy a good field guide, binoculars and go birding.

Sid

Weclome to the art forum!