• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Buying binoculars (1 Viewer)

Himalaya

does any one know any good place to get a pair of binoculars in the north west of england or the bordering areas of yorkshire? if i wanted a long range one whats the cost and what should i be looking for??? how do i get best value for a good price?

First of all I am no expert-there are some very knowledgeable people on here and hopefully this 'bump' will generate some answers for you.
1.There is a place just outside Warrington called Focalpoint Optics. It's run by a guy called Paul. He is extremely helpful and does not put pressure on you. His shop/office backs onto open fields and you can line them up and try them.
2. What you must do is decide how much you can justify paying and look at everything below that price.
3. I could see massive differences between £100 & £200 etc but when I got to £300 I struggled to note any major improvement-even up to £1000.00. Others will disagree so I think it depends largely on your own vision/spectacles/feel etc.
4. There was (and maybe still is) a good stockist just outside Wakefield-on the road to Denby Dale. Can't be more specific but someone will know it.

thanks so much david! will have a look at them when i get a chance.
is there any webistes which provide information on binoculars? i hve avery simple and cheap one and it needs upgrading. wil start looking for one no wincase i go on holiday anytime soon.