• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Please recommend bins under $200 (1 Viewer)

rjwims

Certified newbie
Hi

I am just getting into birding and need recommendations for a first set of bins in the $200 range.

I seem to be drawn to raptors at the moment, so I am not sure as to 8 x 42 or 10x42 or otherwise. Secondary is looking at birds on my wooded 2 acre property.

While I can't afford to spend much over $200 at the moment, I don't want to throw $$$ away, if nothing in this range is any good.

Any recommendations are appreciated, also links to a good deal as well

Thanks

Richard

Richard,
For $200 you can't get a good roof prism binocular, only something that may sort of look like a good roof prism binocular. But you can get a very good view from a Porro prism style. I'd recommend going for the view now, and as you can afford it later, stepping into the nice style and convenience features of roofs. The Nikon Action EX is an example of what $150 or so can accomplish. Leupold sells a nice one too.
Ron

I'd stay with 8 x 42 for a 1st binocular. They are more versatile, are brighter and have wider fields of view, and have better depth of field (That's the part of the view in front of and behind the object you are focused on. This is important when you are looking for a bird that is in a "brushy" area.) than 10 x 42's.