• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Bird songs and calls. Advice needed! (1 Viewer)

David Pedder

General problem with ID.

I’ve been birding for a couple of years now and am quite pleased with my progress but I’m really struggling when it comes to identifying birds from their songs and calls. I’m OK with the obvious ones, Blackbird, Song Thrush, Nuthatch, Chiffchaff etc., but I can’t seem to progress any further than this. I have bought the Collins Field Guide and CDs (Geoff Sample) and play these at home and in the car but I’m just becoming more and more confused!

Any suggestions as to how I might improve my less than basic skills in this department? Thanks.

Last edited:
Maybe you have a friendly birder who would go out into the field with you ...worth a million hours bashing the book and playing the tapes, I believe

Hi David,

Not that I'm any great expert, but I know exactly what you mean when you talk about the information overload that you get when listening to bird-call CDs etc.

What I tend to do more these days is just bone up on a few particular species that I might expect to see at a particular place I intend to visit - that seems to work OK and I am gradually building up a fair list of bird calls that I am familiar with.

I also find it a bit easier to actually see the bird that's calling, so I've invested in the Paul Doherty 'Birds of Britain and Europe' set of DVDs, which helps with both visual and audible id of less familiar birds.