• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Clueless (1 Viewer)

Hi folks,
I am a newbie to both the forum and scoping, I am looking to put a compact digital point and shoot on a Celestron Ultima 80. Every article I read says to get a camera with a 3 or 4 times zoom, however most of the newer cameras have much larger zooms.the one I have in mind is a canon is130 that has an 8 x. Can anyone advise on whether or not it would be suitable or should I look for something old and used. Thanks in advance.
Steve

Hio Steve,

Try to get as close as possible with the eyepiece from your camera lens and see the level of vignetting. If too much, backward a bit and see from it.

Hi folks,
I am a newbie to both the forum and scoping, I am looking to put a compact digital point and shoot on a Celestron Ultima 80. Every article I read says to get a camera with a 3 or 4 times zoom, however most of the newer cameras have much larger zooms.the one I have in mind is a canon is130 that has an 8 x. Can anyone advise on whether or not it would be suitable or should I look for something old and used. Thanks in advance.
Steve

Steve,
You should be able to find a Canon with a 4/5x zoom which is more likely to work.
Neil

Steve,
You should be able to find a Canon with a 4/5x zoom which is more likely to work.
Neil

Just got hold of a Nikon s550 which has a 5x but am having problems setting it up right, I think it's going to be a long process with lots of deleted shots! The quality of image I an getting at present is really poor, however early days yet.
Steve