• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice wanted on bins choice (1 Viewer)

Hi everyone,

I am going to choose some new bins. I live a long way from any bino shops so need to narrow choice down before the long drive, especially as two nearest shops don't sell same choices - so I need to work out which one to visit.

Firstly, I wear glasses

Secondly, budget is around £250 max

Thirdly, I have briefly tried two of the three I'm looking at, but not side by side (like I said, the shop that sells one, doesn't sell the other)

As a professional photographer I carry a lot of camera equipment so I don't want anything too big or heavy as having my camera around my neck with a long lens is often more than enough on it's own.

So, my choices are narrowed to:
Used Leica Ultravid 10x25 BCA - reasoning, will fit pocket rather than around neck and not get in way of camera, but can I really use a 25mm bino for bird watching? (price £229)

Minox 8x42 BL (price £259)

RSPB 8.5x42 WPG (tried these yesturday and was really impressed but wished I could have compared to the Minox) (price £239)

Would be happy to receive opinions on the above and alternative suggestions if you have bins that you really rate!

Thanks in advance for help.

Hello and welcome to the forum. I have not tried the binoculars you mention, but really like my 8 x 42 Vortex Vipers, which meet the requirements you list. They have been very well received by most reviewers. Here are some links to reviews and surveys that I have found useful in researching binoculars:

http://www.birdwatching.com/optics.html