• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help with zeiss dialyt 10x 40 b t* (1 Viewer)

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting so go easy on me lol, I was wondering if someone could please give me a bit of information on my zeiss dialyt 10x 40 b t*, they were recently given to me as a gift from my uncle and even though I already have a pair of 7x42 t* I am finding it very hard to get to grips with them due to the diopter not being on the eye piece, could someone please enlighten me on the best way to focus the binos and explain to me which is the focus wheel and which is the diopter thanks in advance J

Hi Jase,

Welcome to Bird Forum!

Is it this binocular?

http://www.allbinos.com/1748-Carl_Zeiss_Dialyt_10x40_B_T*-binoculars_specifications.html

You can click on the pictures to increase the size. It was made from 1968 to 2000. Phase coatings on the prisms were added in 1988.

Someone should be around soon to help you set the diopter.

It looks to me like the diopter adjustment is on the front of the hinge. Look closely at the markings on the 2 focus wheels. That should tell you.

If it is on the front of the hinge perhaps you can pull it out a bit to make the setting and then push it back to lock it? Or maybe you just turn it to the diopter you need like the one on my 1984 Leitz 7x42 Trinovid BA works?