• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Brent Geese variables (1 Viewer)

Reader

I was in Norfolk for just over a day this week and managed to photograph some Brent Geese. Thankfully I managed to capture some Pale bellied Brents (the first I have ever seen) as well as some dark bellied Brents. Now I am no expert on Brent identification but whilst I found it relatively easy to pick out thePale bellied I found that within the Dark bellied there seemed to be variable plumages. I have attached a Pale bellied plus a couple of dark bellied Brents. can someone tell me why in one of the Dark bellied Geese it has visible wing markings whilst the other has none.

Forgive the fuzziness of the pictures but I was battling against gale force winds and these were the best out of over a hundred photos taken.

Attachments

• Brent Goose 0095.jpg
    Brent Goose 0095.jpg
    95.1 KB · Views: 225
  • Brent Goose 0159.jpg
    Brent Goose 0159.jpg
    86.6 KB · Views: 204
  • Pale bellied Brent 0151.jpg
    Pale bellied Brent 0151.jpg
    75.4 KB · Views: 223
Hi Reader,

The ones with white fringes are first-winter birds (also with next to no white on the side of the neck), without fringes are adults

Michael

Hi Reader,
The variation in wing markings is age-related,with adults of all Brent Goose taxa having unmarked wings and juveniles/1st-winters having pale 'bars'.
Harry H
P.S. See I was beaten to it....;)

Hi Reader,