• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Binocular Advise (1 Viewer)

136jamie

hello guys signed up to the forum lst week its GREAT!!!!!!
Some truley inspirational photos.
Need some advise on what binoculars to go for??

Im a novice so dont want to spend a fortune on pair that i dont raelly need.

all help would be gratefully recieved.

thanks jay

hello guys signed up to the forum lst week its GREAT!!!!!!
Some truley inspirational photos.
Need some advise on what binoculars to go for??

Im a novice so dont want to spend a fortune on pair that i dont raelly need.

all help would be gratefully recieved.

thanks jay

Hello Jay,

I think you would get some helpful advice if you stated your budget. For some, 400 quid would be an economical choice for others it might be half that.

Happy bird watching,
Arthur Pinewood :hi:

Hello Jay,

The first thing I'd suggest is try a few binoculars for size and see what works for you. We all differ in our needs and preferences. If you can't get down to a decent shop then ask the birdwatchers you meet about their choice and, more often than not, I'm sure they would let you have a go. Most here would regard an 8x as the most versatile magnification though different situations need different solutions ans some here like a 7x or 10x more.