• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Basic bird feeding questions (1 Viewer)

Stacey

Hi! My name's Stacey and this is my first visit to this forum (though I know I'll be a regular now!)

I'm new to feeding birds. Today I bought three feeders: two hoppers and a suet feeder. I positioned them from brackets so they hang down from chains in front of my parlor windows.

They came prefilled with mixed birdseed, but I plan to fill them with black oil sunflowers later (when the mixed seed runs out), or put millet in one and sunflowers in the other (plus the suet of course). Am I doing well so far?

I have a few basic questions which I hope you'll have the patience to answer!

#1 Do birds feed more often during certain times of the day?

#2 Will the noise inside the house scare the birds away, or will they eventually get used to it? I have a dog who likes to look out the windows, and I think he might bark at the birds (but I'm not sure). I also have a noisy husband and two teenage kids.

#3 How long does it usually take for the birds to find the feeders?

#4 I don't have oudoor wiring, so I won't be able to provide a heated birdbath this winter. Will they still come?

I really appreciate any help you can give me. Thanks in advance!

Hi Stacey! A very warm welcome to you on behalf of all the Moderators and Admin here at Bird Forum. I think you will become addicted quickly. :)