• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Astrophotography adapter... (1 Viewer)

steven.coyne

Ok I'm new to digiscoping; I don’t even have a scope yet!!!

Ive just been playing around with my camera and some binos for now...

Anyways to the point, just as I've been browsing around for equipment I’ve came across a couple of adapters used in astro photography (same principle really, strap a camera to a scope and take pictures...

Anyways here they are for you guys to take a look at...

Telescope house adapter

Orion SteadyPix Camera Mount

I own the telescope house adapter and I’m currently using it with a cool pix 4500 and an 8x40 pair of binos. Results are ok, a little fuzzy though as I don’t really have anything to stabilise the whole thing with (no tripod mount for binos)

Anyways just wanted to point out a few options that people may not have considered before.

I do actually intend to go on to buy the Orion camera mount to try that out as well. Looks like it can be set up and moved into position quite easily while still using the scope normally. Very cheap for a universal mount as well for those concerned about possible thread damage.

Anyways tell me what you guys think about these adapters if anyone has had any experience using them before or anything similar.

It looks like the swing-out -style brackets are gradually getting more attention - and for very good reasons. The brackets have the advantages of
1) being able to use variety of cameras
2) saving eye-relief (-> wider view)
3) possibility to easily use the scope for viewing