• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Need New Camera! Which One? (1 Viewer)

balkantrek

Looking for a bit of general advice from the many experienced photographers on the site.

I work as a mountain guide, and have for the last few years been very happy with my Canon PowerShot A80, taking some nice landscapes and some nice general nature shots (flowers, butterflies, amphibians etc). As a mountain guide, a compact digital camera comes in handy because I am already burdened down with a giant rucksack. Also, because I am guiding others, my job is to show them the beautiful landscapes and point out the birds and other fauna and flora, so they can get good shots...I come at the back of the queue when everyone is lining up to snap something, so I wouldn't get much chance to fiddle around with changing lenses or setting up tripods.

I also do nature-orientated travel writing, and have just got two new commissions, one to contribute a monthly article to a magazine, and the other to write a new book. I have received the author's guidelines from the publisher and they say they want digital photos to be 6 mega pixels or higher. They also state: "Files should be immediately converted to TIFF in PhotoShop and converted to 300dpi. This will produce a file of approximately 17–18 MB in size."

So big question is what camera would you advise for general wildlife and landscape photography? To summarize my requirements:

1. Type: Good quality digital comapct
2. Budget: up to £350
3. Megapixels: 6 or more