• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Will I ever be able to paint? (1 Viewer)

matt green

Norfolkman gone walkabout
These long winter nights are tempting me to start ''attempting'' to paint.

Trouble is,at present i'm not that good at birds.I'm highly inspired by some of the landscape watercolours posted in the various forums and would quite like to dabble.A few years ago I used to draw ink and pen sketches of old churches and buildings,but these are angular inanimate lifeless objects,much harder to draw living organisms.

So,my question is thus...is it possible (with practice) for someone to aquire a
level of artistic merit worthy of wall space from being a total talantless
(at present) novice.

I've always been of the opinion that good artists have a natural gift,hence
you either have it or you don't?

Matt

In my opinion, birds ain't the easiest things to paint, really. I've been painting for years and I still need lots of work on birds. Keep trying and you will probably surprise yourself. And keep the old sketches-not only will you learn from your mistakes, you will have a "progression" to admire. Go for it! And keep going for it!

Definitely. I've only been doing this for less than eighteen months, but it's slowly getting there. Still a long way to go, though as the latest one didn't sell on fleabay.