• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Any professionals use just the medium format lenses I.E. 1-4 zoom, 400 f5.6, etc (1 Viewer)

CCRII

Just wondering if there are any professionals that use any of these lenses exclusively? It seems that for most situations handholding a lens is ideal. Of course I have limited experience but I "Love" the 1-4 zoom. When I purchased this lens, I had the idea that it would be a great lens to learn on at a semi-professional level. It has really exceeded my expectations. I of course like every bird photographer am thinking about upgrading. However it seems the options are not much better then what I already have for reach. I noticed that the 500 f/4 gets a lot of rave reviews. However 500 is not enough reach to justify having to use a very cumbersome tripod that would probably limit my getting close to birds and I would then have to rely on blinds. I know you could get a 1.4x or 2x teleconverter and increase the focal length quite a bit but from what I have heard this reduces the image quality, AF speed significantly. Also the F stop would go up to 5.6-8 which would suck for me cuz I live in gloomy michigan.

I am wondering if when the tele is added can the 500mm beat the IQ of the 1-4zoom at 400mm? I mean 640mm to 1000mm would be great but at what cost? Obviously a tripod would not be a big deal if I was getting double or near double the reach of my current lens.

I find myself shooting mostly passerines mostly.

Thanks!