• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

2x converter for Canon 300F4 is (1 Viewer)

christineredgate

Winner of the Copeland Wildlife Photographer of th
I believe there is a 2x converter which will autofocus with the Canon 300F4 lens.Is it the Tamron or the Kenko(may have that wrong,sounds like a brand of coffee!!).Has anyone used these converters,and do they make the image worse than if one was manual focussing with the Canon2x.The only reason why I ask,is,I am not very good with MF,too unsteady,but I have heard,that there is a 2x converter which will autofocus-I think.
thanks Christine.

christineredgate said:
I believe there is a 2x converter which will autofocus with the Canon 300F4 lens.Is it the Tamron or the Kenko(may have that wrong,sounds like a brand of coffee!!).
thanks Christine.

One or more of the specific brands of teleconverters you mention may simply fail to provide full electrical compatability with Canon lenses and therefore they fail to report their presence which causes the camera to report the wrong focal length and to attempt to autofocus. The same thing can be done with any teleconverter and small piece of tape on the contacts. Rather or not it is successful in focusing depends on several things.

Using the Canon 20D with your 300 f/4 lens as an example.

The 20D requires a lens with a minimum f/5.6 to autofocus.
Adding a 1.4x teleconverter to your 300mm lens you would have a f/5.6 combo that should autofocus in most situations.