• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Who is this on my peanut cake? (1 Viewer)

graemejw

I see this bird every now & again on the peanut cake in my Greenwich back garden. As a birdwatching novice I cannot identify it from any of my books - please help.

The feeder is usually swamped with Blue Tits & Long-tailed tits, even the odd Green Woodpecker - not bad for such an urban location!!

Attachments

• dscn0967.jpg
    dscn0967.jpg
    134.7 KB · Views: 517
Euan will tell you..................... he's got thousands in his garden.

It's a juv Sterling ;-)

Shame on you Steve!!! (But you did make me laugh!)

graemejw, it's a juvenile starling, honest!!!

No worries it's my ignorance really - thanks for the ID. It didn't strike me that it'd be a starling - I thought they went round in great big flocks?!!

Starlings are like twitchers, sometimes there's so many it's scary and other times there on their own having the cake all to themselves :)

No juvenile starling should ever be seen on a peanut cake. No juvenile ANYTHING should be on a peanut cake.

Why do you have a peanut cake in your garden at this time of year? Why not just knock the nests down with a stick?

Hi jwsindub,

Nothing wrong with peanut cake. It is WHOLE peanuts that cause problems for young birds, as they can choke on them. Chopped peanuts in a cake (as is obvious in the photo - no whole peanuts there) are OK.

Michael

Hmmmmmmm I feel a good debate coming on!!!

I must admit I feed all year round, including whole nuts in a feeder, is this incorrect?