• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

What is the best mobile phone for birding? (1 Viewer)

Winterdune

Hi all,

I have a pay as you go mobile for texting and phoning but that's it. I'm considering getting one for accessing birdguides and other net things, taking pictures, recording sound (and perhaps playback too), and having portable field guides/bird sounds stored on.

Any recommendations for particular phones? And is this doable on pay as you go or would I have to have a monthly contract? As you can guess I am a total novice and this darned new-fangled stuff...

Thanks
Sean

Hi all,

I have a pay as you go mobile for texting and phoning but that's it. I'm considering getting one for accessing birdguides and other net things, taking pictures, recording sound (and perhaps playback too), and having portable field guides/bird sounds stored on.

Any recommendations for particular phones? And is this doable on pay as you go or would I have to have a monthly contract? As you can guess I am a total novice and this darned new-fangled stuff...

Thanks
Sean

Be sure to consider battery life!
I have a Motorola defy on O2.. It is packed with useful stuff like GPS, camera, internet, plus loads of useful apps. and good UK coverage, plus it is small, weatherproof and shockproof to an extent.

However, the battery life ain't so good.

I got round the poor battery life by a USB Battery pack

There will be better phones out there too by now. Mine is over 6 months old ..Shock!