• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New lens, new body or both? (1 Viewer)

mike_gss

VERY new birder
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to birding - started October 2014 so please be gentle! I've been taking my camera when on birding trips but it's seriously underspecced and out of date. It was bought 6-7 years ago just for "general touristy" photography.

It's a Nikon D60 (10.2MP) with a 55-200mm zoom (f4/5.6 with VR). Pretty lame given "modern" specs. I'm wondering if I can do better with a more powerful zoom or maybe a fixed-focal length lens aroud 300 or 400mm but on the same body? I don't have the budget for a completely new total setup - particularly seeing what current prices are.

Any suggestions/advice would be welcome.

Cheers,
Mike

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to birding - started October 2014 so please be gentle! I've been taking my camera when on birding trips but it's seriously underspecced and out of date. It was bought 6-7 years ago just for "general touristy" photography.

It's a Nikon D60 (10.2MP) with a 55-200mm zoom (f4/5.6 with VR). Pretty lame given "modern" specs. I'm wondering if I can do better with a more powerful zoom or maybe a fixed-focal length lens aroud 300 or 400mm but on the same body? I don't have the budget for a completely new total setup - particularly seeing what current prices are.

Any suggestions/advice would be welcome.

Cheers,
Mike

I don't know your camera or lens so can't comment with certainty.

What is holding your photographs back? Is it picture quality, reach, low light performance or all?