• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tripod head for scope question (1 Viewer)

Chris B.

I've been a photographer for over 35 years and so have several tripods and ball heads of various sizes to accommodate my photo gear which include DSLRs and a 400mm lens. I'll be purchasing a scope for digiscoping within the next few months, probably a Nikon 82ED, and although I know I can use one of my tripods, is there a major advantage to using a fluid head as opposed to one of my ball heads?

Chris

I use a ball head with my very small Nikon ED50 and it is ideal.
I've tried my Pentax PF80 on a Markins M10 and it sucks.

It's all about size and weight. With larger scopes one has to keep the tension knobs quite loose to pan reasonably quick and it becomes a floppy situation. There's too much inertia with the larger scopes. They are slow to use as your busying yourself with getting on target, locking down knobs, and focusing.

Fluid heads (I use Manfrotto 3130s) are two axis heads and the only movement you have to concern yourself with is fore and aft (azimuth) which is easily damped by the head. Much safer and a lot less fiddly. Much of the time you'll never concern yourself with locking anything down.

Hey you have the ball heads already, give it a go, it can't hurt. When you look at fluid heads the Manfrotto 128RC (replacement for 3130) and Gitzo G2180 are popular for scope use. The new Manfrotto 701HDV also looks interesting.

Last edited:
I use a ball head with my very small Nikon ED50 and it is ideal.
I've tried my Pentax PF80 on a Markins M10 and it sucks.