• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Butterfly ID challenge from dreadful photo!! (1 Viewer)

ivewalmer

Attached (hopefully) is a photo of a butterfly that I took earlier today - unfortunately the Coolpix autofocussed on the foliage rather than the intended subject and then it departed! I have had a look at a book and can't find a good match for it so if anyone out there can come up with a name for me I'd be grateful - expect it's something very boring and obvious!

If it helps it was on an ancient chalk grassland site in SE Kent on a patch of brambles.

I am new to butterflies and dragonflies and my interest is being spurred by the use of my coolpix 4500 to take (reasonable) photos with little expertise needed from me. It's helps to fill the quiter birding months of June and July! I find myself constantly posting for ID help - hopefully I'll be able to return the favours in future years once I get this sussed!!

Thanks for all the help in advance,

Ivan

Attachments

• dscn1731 (small).jpg
    dscn1731 (small).jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 362
Can't help with the ID, but if you get this problem regularly (you are not alone!) try switching to manual focus. Select a 'comfortable' distance on the camera then achieve sharp focus by moving the camera back and forth until it is at its sharpest - don't forget to allow for the slight delay in the LCD screen 'refresh' rate. The 'comfortable' distance will vary from one species to another.

Adey

Sorry can't help with the ID either.