• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spotting Scope Review: Bushnell Elite 15-45x60mm Military Version (1 Viewer)

This scope has been around for a long, long time, but it's under the Bausch and Lomb name. I wonder why there are no reviews about for such a long-running and decent scope. I will have a crack to write the first detailed review of this scope online.

Anyone has more information or experience regarding this scope please add to it. I know good optics but I'm new to the spotting scope world.

Background information:
I got mine at opticsplanet.com for $259.95 (Free shipping) I ordered it Tuesday night and received it Friday about 2pm. Kudos to Opticsplanet.com.

http://www.opticsplanet.net/bushnell-15-45x60mm-elite-spotting-scope-781548p.html

(Realized the price is different, and I ordered it exactly a week ago! Whew!)

I appreciate good optics as an amateur photographer. However, I am short on cash as a young teacher so I try to go for the best bang for bucks. After a yearlong research, I have decided on this scope because this scope has been made for a very long time (old wisdom: only good things can withstood the test of time), and this scope has an excellent reputation. The sales at the time put it below my price range ($300 or less).

I used a Winchester 60mm spotting scope before. It was so bad I refunded it with only one use.

http://www.opticsplanet.net/vanguard-winchester-15-45x60mm-zoom-spotting-scope-kit.html

Moral of the lesson: never go cheap with EVEN spotting scope. It takes more resolution than I thought to spot little holes.

First impression: