• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

poorman's hummingbird setup recommendations? (1 Viewer)

ctron

Hi,

I am new to bird photography/ imaging in general, but recently I have taken on hummingbird imaging. This seems to be an art all by itself as these guys are small and the wings move so fast that I find it difficult to freeze them in images. I am using a Canon 350D with Canon 400mm f/5.6 lens and sometimes with a Kenko 1.4x extender. If I take 50 shots at various angles and lighting, I might get one that looks acceptable. I am trying to improve the odds, especially when trying to capture the fantastic color of the males, which I find very difficult to get the lighting correct.

I started off using just sunlight and repositioning the feeder so that the sun would illuminate the hummer at the proper angles. This sort of works, but the hummers don't show up often enough during full daylight to offer consistent results and so I am often left with the no or little color result. I then started using the camera's built in flash which helps just slightly because with the telephoto lens, it doesn't have much effect. Still inconsistent or poor results.