• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Attracting Robins (1 Viewer)

Hello. I have been cultivating mealworms for a couple of years now for my ducks enjoyment. But after reading on this forum that Robins like them I wanted to share the bounty with them as well. I also have a big bin of red wigglers that I'm sure they would enjoy.

How's the best way to get them to come to a feeder, but I guess more specifically what kind of feeder? I built a small platform that holds a dish (for the worms) and enough room for landing. I nailed this to a tree very close to the bath that I see the Robins come to.

I read in one post a suggestion of just putting a dish on the deck railing. That is out of the question...I have too many cats.

The worms have been disappearing, but up until yesterday I never saw who took them. I camped out at a fair distance with bino's and a large coffee and was rewarded with seeing Blackcaps busily stealing the worms, but no sign of a Robin. Can anyone suggest a more Robin friendly approach? There are a lot of them around, but they never come to any of my feeders. Maybe they don't like what's on the menu. ;)

Thanks,
Corinne

Hi Corinne,

The best way i find to feed the robins is to turn up some soil or compost and the robins just come right up next to me and feed on the grubs and worms.