• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help with White Stork leg rings (1 Viewer)

NGilbert

Hi there,

I am a PhD student at the University of East Anglia. My research is looking at the differences in breeding success between migrant and non migrant White Storks on the Iberian Peninsula, particularly in Portugal. You may know increasing numbers of White Storks are choosing to over-winter in Iberia rather than migrate south to Africa (probably due to milder winters and abundant food from local rubbish tips). I am comparing the annual breeding productivity of migrant versus non migrants to try and understand the impact their migratory decisions may be having on the populations.

Last winter I carried out a month long census of over wintering birds in Portugal to read as many coloured leg identification rings as possible to identify the wintering birds. What I also hope to do is try and gain better confirmation of which birds migrated. What would really be helpful is to find people who may live or have been on holiday anywhere in Africa, or have seen birds migrating over Gibraltar, who read any White Stork leg rings. Would you be willing to submit to me any white stork ring records read between July 2011 and end of March 2012? I do hope so! I would need to know as much info as possible (hopefully date and location of sighting, ring identification number and ring colour) but simply the ring number is more than welcome!

Many thanks and best wishes,

Hi there,