• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

I'm new to binoculars, which binocular size should I look for? (1 Viewer)

Punchy71

Greetings,
I am a new birder. I have a pair of binoculars that I use for general, all-around birding, but I find they are kind of hard to use because they are hard to hold steady due to their higher power optics. They are 10x50. So I have been considering possibly switching to a lower powered pair and was looking for suggestions on a more birding friendly specification to use. Should I step down to a 7, 8 or 9 power? What about objective lense size? Too small and not enough light comes in making a dim view. However I also know that smaller lenses makes for a more compact and lighter pair of binoculars and thus easier and more convienant to use. So everything is a bit of a trade-off.

Thanks

If you are carrying them about then 8x32 is about optimum. If you do a lot of birding at dawn and dusk then go up to 8x42. Some folk would argue that 7x is better as you don't really notice the drop in mag but you do notice the extra brightness and FOV. But there are many fewer 7x to choose from than 8x.

In general, 8x42 is the most recommended configuration you will find - although some people swear by 8x32s(I am able to notice a steep difference at dawn, dusk, and when under canopy cover between 42 and 32mm objective lenses) and others are 7x devotees (a magnification I too like but as mentioned above, few models are offered).