• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Big Gulls in Taiwan (2 Viewers)

SteveMM

Rather than continually badger those (very helpful) guys over in the Q&A, I thought I'd start a thread here to present some of the bigger gulls (problem or otherwise) that I'm coming across whilst living in Taiwan.

I'll start with the attached photo (taken this afternoon), in which most of the taxa that occur can be found: taimyrensis, mongolicus, vegae, and a very nice vagrant Great Black-headed Gull.

I'm far from a novice birder, but for many years have chosen to overlook many aspects of identification where this tricky group is concerned, opting instead to tick the 'easy' ones and move quietly on. In starting this thread, I'm hoping to now fill all those embarassing gaps in my knowledge of this 'set' and would sincerely appreciate being told whenever I'm getting things wrong (or any input whatsoever for that matter).

Steve

Attachments

• Assorted Gulls (01) - Copy.jpg
    Assorted Gulls (01) - Copy.jpg
    174.4 KB · Views: 219
Last edited:
It makes sense to start with the most numerous of the wintering taxa: taimyrensis (whatever that means). I'm under the impression now that this 'form' is being treated as a 'hybrid swarm' (between heuglini and vegae), hence characteristics of either of the two ancestral parent species could conceivably be evident in any given individual taimyrensis. This form does seem to be remarkably variable.