• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ7 (1 Viewer)

Tern nut

Does anyone have experience of the Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ7 for digiscoping? I'm looking at the Leica APO 77 as the scope, unless the rumoured 80mm becomes available soon?

I know this is a 12x zoom & that anything over 3x will cause vignetting, but was hoping it would work if it was only zoomed to x3. Sorry if this is dumb questions but I'm new to the world of digiscoping.

The reasons for wanting this camera, is that it won't always be used with a scope so having a 12x zoom would be useful.

Also has anyone had experience with the Eagle eye Opticzoom 5x lens, I was wondering if that would be compatibly with the Lumix. Not sure what the image quality would be like?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Tern nut said:
Does anyone have experience of the Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ7 for digiscoping?

Don't have experience with this model, but it looks about the same size of lens as my Panny FZ20. Which has no chance at digiscoping - the lens is far too big. Look for a camera with a smaller lens diameter. The problem you get with large lens diameters is shocking levels of vignetting, where the picture makes a small circle in the middle of the field of view, throwing away most of the megapixels you paid for.

Tern nut said:
I know this is a 12x zoom & that anything over 3x will cause vignetting, but was hoping it would work if it was only zoomed to x3. Sorry if this is dumb questions but I'm new to the world of digiscoping.